All illustrations by Jessica Randklev.

All illustrations by Jessica Randklev.

As our “paper” of record so eloquently put it, “Angel’s Homestyle Buffet has closed. The news Wednesday surprised one customer…” I however, was not surprised. Anyone who gave as much of their life to Angel’s as I knew this day was coming. And I’m going to miss the East Bremerton eatery. Because ….

Angel’s Homestyle Buffet was where I learned that refrigeration is a luxury.

Angel’s Homestyle Buffet was where I learned that mine is the only house not serving ice cream from a machine.

Angel’s Homestyle Buffet was where I learned that washing your hands is for IHOP

Angel’s Homestyle Buffet was where I lost my manners.

Angel’s Homestyle Buffet was the first place I tried custard.

Angel’s Homestyle Buffet was where I learned that weight watching is a spectator’s sport.

Angel’s Homestyle Buffet was where I learned that popcorn shrimp contains neitheir popcor nor shrimp.

Angel’s Homestyle Buffet was where I discovered the purpose of elastic.

Angel’s Homestyle Buffet was where I leraned that brunch isn’t just for Sundays.

Angel’s Homestyle Buffet was where I took women.

Angel’s Homestyle Buffet was where I learned that sprinkles go with spiral ham.

Angel’s Homestyle Buffet was where I learned how to get three squares in one sitting.

Angel’s Homestyle Buffet was where I learned that “all you can eat” ain’t “all you can carry.”

Angel’s Homestyle Buffet was where I leaned that pockets hemmorage grape Jello.

Angel’s Homestyle Buffet was where I leraned that my science teacher was a pervert.

Angel’s Homestyle Buffet was where I learned about forgiveness.

Angel’s Homestyle Buffet was where I learned the meaning of the words “portion control.”

Angel’s Homestyle Buffet was where I learned to vote Republican.

Angel’s Homestyle Buffet was where I found learned that not all potatoes work their way from the ground up.

Angel’s Homestyle Buffet was where I learned about lung cancer.

Angel’s Homestyle Buffet was where I learned how slow fast food really is.

Angel’s Homestyle Buffet was where I learned to read the expiration date on cottage cheese.

Angel’s Homestyle Buffet was where I learned how to play the piano.

