This is the frittata. Dinner not shown.

This is the frittata. Dinner not shown.

To be honest, I haven’t actually had dinner at August Wynn (1110 Perry Ave. in Manette) yet. So, I can’t say with any certainty that the duck is worth $20ish. Somebody’s gonna have to report back for me. However, I did enjoy a plate at proprietor Chris Bortisser’s former digs, Augustino, in Evergreen Park. And I think for the 2-for-1 situation going on through Feb. 13, it’s worth a shot. Two quick points I want to make about this:

Tyler, again in plaid, spent breakfast explaining the hijinks last night at High Fidelity. The paper napink in his breast pocket and the side of bacon round out his morning ensemble nicely.

Tyler, again in plaid, spent breakfast explaining the happenings last night at High Fidelity. Notice how the paper napkin in his breast pocket and the side of bacon nicely round out his a.m. ensemble.

1. This deal, conveniently runs through Friday the 13th of February, which obviously is the day before Valentine’s Day. I’ll be hitting this deal on the 13th for a cheap(er) Valentine’s date, and make a weekend out of V-Day. (Holiday haters, get over it.)

2. The food at Augustino was delicious. The plates were the problem. They were beyond wobbly, and the little eating surface there was was like an upside down glass bowl. My guess is that I wasn’t the only one who felt this way. However, I have been assured that the plates have been switched out (though one is on display) and eating isn’t a chore anymore. That’s it.

August Wynn is open for lunch and dinner, Wednesday through Saturday; breakfast is served on Saturday and Sunday.

